News Front Page

Poker Rooms

Poker Strategy

Odds Calculator

Poker Rules

Poker Games


Player Profiles



Poker Blogs

Poker Software

Poker History

Home Poker



Poker Pro Matt Ashton Wins 2013 Poker Players Championship

Tue, 20 Aug 2013

While the main event in the World Series of Poker gets the most press every year, the most prestigious tournament is the Pokers Player Championship. The 2013 winner of this $50,000 buy-in tournament was poker pro Matt Ashton. He topped a field of great poker professionals to win the $1.77 million dollar first prize.

The win by Ashton was definitely not a fluke as he had already made three final tables in the World Series of Poker. Ashton had to defeat poker pros Don Nguyen and John Hennigan at the final table to win the bracelet. “I don’t think winning one tournament makes you a great player all of a sudden,” Ashton said. “It just makes you more recognizable.”

2013 Poker Players Championship

Matthew Ashton - $1,774,089
Don Nguyen - $1,096,254
John Hennigan - $686,568
David Benyamine - $497,122
George Danzer - $388,523
Minh Ly - $309,830
Mike Wattel - $251,602
Jonathan Duhamel - $207,630

The British poker pro Ashton is now in position to win the World Series of Poker Player of the Year award. His victory over 132 players in the Poker Players Championship took him to the top of the WSOP rankings. He made four final tables in the 2013 World Series of Poker with his worst finish being 7th.

♠ ♣ ♥ ♦

$600 First Deposit Bonus at Poker Stars

♠ ♣ ♥ ♦

Poker News - 2016
Poker News - 2015
Poker News - 2014
Poker News - 2013
Poker News - 2012
Poker News - 2011
Poker News - 2010
Poker News - 2009
Poker News - 2008
Poker News - 2007
Poker News - 2006
Poker News - 2005
Poker News - 2004