In times of crisis, there always seem to be those prepared to exploit
the situation, and this weekend reports were coming in regarding the
allegedly questionable behavior of Superior Poker.com, a LVFH-powered
online poker room licensed by Kahnawake.
The CEO of the VIP.com poker operation, Alistair Assheton alerted
news and information portal Gambling911 to an email apparently sent
to a number of players by Superior Poker, pitching for their business
on the blatantly false grounds that VIP.com was closing down: "Players
with accounts in several places are reporting getting spam suggesting
that VIP.com has closed down," Assheton said over the weekend.
"(And the email suggested) that the players should sign up at
something called ‘superiorpoker.com."
VIP.com has reacted by sending out a message to all its clients advising
of the false information being sent out across the Web, while warning
them to steer clear of Superior Poker.
"I hope this helps, but feel free to let me know if I can
give you any more information," Assheton said. "I
don’t think anyone should freak out, but at such a tricky time
for the business generally, I think it is important that players get
rapid, real information from VIP.com whenever we come across these
sorts of issues."
A section of the spam email being sent out by Superior Poker reads:
"Several publicly traded companies such as VIP have closed,
been indicted for accepting telephone wagers or are no longer accepting
US players. Is VIP next? Bet on the games, not your sportsbook."